# Chapter 31

# Virginia Amusement Device Regulations

### Part I

### **General Provisions**

13 VAC 5-31-10. Purpose.

A. The purpose of this chapter is to establish standards for the regulation, design, construction, maintenance, operation, and inspection of amusement devices.

B. The provisions of the USBC, including but not limited to all administrative procedures shall apply in the administration and enforcement of this chapter and to amusement devices to the extent they such provisions are not superseded by the provisions of this chapter.

13 VAC 5-31-40. Incorporated standards.

A. The following standards are hereby incorporated by reference for use as part of this chapter:

- 1. American National Standards Institute (ANSI) Standard No. B77.1-90 for the regulation of passenger tramways; and
- 2. American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) Standard Nos. F698-94, F747-95 F747-97, F770-93, F846-92, F853-93 F853-98, F893-87, F1159-94 F1159-97a, F1193-95 F1193-97, F1305-94, F1950-99, F1957-99 and F2007-00 for the regulation of amusement devices.

The standards referenced above may be procured from:

ANSI, 11 W. 42nd Street, New York, NY 10036

ASTM, 100 Barr Harbor Dr., West Conshohocken, PA 19428 2956 19428-2959

- B. The provisions of this chapter govern where they are in conflict with any provisions of the standards incorporated by reference in this chapter.
- C. The following requirements supplement the provisions of the ASTM standards incorporated by reference in this chapter:
- 1. The operator of an amusement device shall be at least 16 years of age, except when the person is under the supervision of a parent or guardian and engaged in activities determined not to be hazardous by the Commissioner of the Virginia Department of Labor and Industry;
- 2. The amusement device shall be attended by an operator at all times during operation except that (i) one operator is permitted to operate two or more amusement devices provided they are within the sight of the operator and operated by a common control panel or station and (ii) one operator is permitted to operate two kiddie rides with separate controls provided the distance between controls is no more than 35 feet and the controls are equipped with a positive pressure switch; and
- 3. The operator of an amusement device shall not be (i) under the influence of any drugs which may affect the operator's judgment or ability to assure the safety of the public or (ii) under the influence of alcohol.
- D. Where an amusement device was manufactured under previous editions of the standards incorporated by reference in this chapter, the previous editions shall apply to the extent that they are different from the current standards.
- 13 VAC 5-31-50. Certification of amusement device inspectors.

A. Any person, including local building department personnel, inspecting an amusement device relative to a certificate of inspection shall possess a valid certificate of competence as an amusement device inspector from the BHCD.

B. Local building department personnel enforcing this chapter <u>and private inspectors</u> shall attend periodic training courses as designated and <del>provided</del> required by DHCD.

13 VAC 5-31-60. Appeals. Appeals from the local building department concerning the application of this chapter shall be made to the <u>local</u> board of <u>building code</u> appeals established by the USBC. Application for appeal shall be filed with the local building department within 14 <u>calendar</u> days after <u>receipt of</u> the decision of the local building department. The board of appeals shall hear the appeal within seven <u>calendar</u> days after the application for appeal is filed. <u>After final determination</u> by the board any person who was a party to the appeal may appeal to the <u>TRB</u> within 14 calendar days of receipt of the decision to be appealed. Such appeal shall be in accordance with the procedures established in the USBC, under the authority granted by § 36-98.3 of the Code of Virginia where the provisions of Chapter 6 of Title 36 of the Code of <u>Virginia</u> and the USBC apply to amusement devices.

NOTE: Because of the short time frames normally associated with amusement device operations, DHCD staff will be available to assist in finding a timely resolution to disagreements between owners or operators and the local building department upon request by either party.

Part II

Owner or Operator Responsibilities

- 13 VAC 5-31-90. Accidents. In the event of an accident involving serious injury or death the owner or operator shall:
- 1. Contact the responsible local building department as soon as practical, but not latter than the next work day;
- 2. Cease operation until the responsible local building department approves resuming operation, except that approval from the responsible local building department for resuming operation is not required if the investigation required by subdivision 3 of this section provides reasonable evidence that the serious injury or death was not related to malfunction or improper operation;
- 3. Conduct an investigation to include (i) an examination of the accident scene; (ii) an interview of any witnesses or persons involved in the accident; and (iii) compiling a written report. The report shall contain a summary of the investigation and a description of the device involved, including the name of the manufacturer, the serial number and the date of manufacture, if available; and
- 4. Submit the investigation report to the responsible local building department within 24 hours after the time of the accident except that if its office is closed during the 24-hour period, the report shall be submitted within four hours after the office reopens.

# Part III

# Enforcement

13 VAC 5-31-100. Local building department. The local building department's official or representative shall be permitted to do the following relative to an amusement device or devices intended to be, or being, operated at a site within their jurisdiction:

- 1. Collect fees for a permit to operate, renewal of a permit to operate and inspections conducted by staff to issue a certificate of inspection. The total for fees associated with one permit to operate and any associated inspections or one renewal of a permit to operate and any associated inspections shall not exceed the following:
- a. \$15 for each kiddie ride under the permit;
- b. \$25 for each circular ride or flat-ride under the permit which can be inspected from less than 20 feet above ground; and
- c. \$45 for each other type of amusement device under the permit.

Notwithstanding the above, the fee for each amusement device under the permit shall be reduced by 50% when the inspection for obtaining a certificate of inspection for that device is conducted by a private inspector, and shall not exceed a maximum of \$150 for one site;

- 2. In addition to the above, require permits and charge fees as appropriate under the USBC for amusement devices which are being initially constructed in whole or in part at a site within the jurisdiction for intended operation at that site. This authorization does not apply to an amusement device which is only being reassembled or undergoing a major modification at a site or being moved to a site for operation;
- 3. Approve modifications of this chapter upon determination that the public health, safety and welfare are assured;
- 4. Conduct an inspection at any time when the device would normally be open for operation, or at any other time if permission is granted by the owner or operator, for compliance with this chapter; and

- 5. Issue an order to temporarily cease the operation of an amusement device upon determination that it may be unsafe or otherwise endanger the public. The temporary order shall remain in effect until a new certificate of inspection is issued.
- 13 VAC 5-31-110. Enforcement. The local building department's official or representative shall enforce the provisions of the VADR as provided herein, and as interpreted by the State Building Code Technical Review Board (TRB).

The local building department's official or representative shall be responsible for the following relative to an amusement device or devices intended to be, or being, operated at a site within their jurisdiction:

- 1. Approving or rejecting any application made for a permit to operate, or renewal of a permit to operate, within five days after submittal and issuing or renewing the permit when appropriate. The permit shall be issued or renewed for the length of time the device or devices will be operating at the site, except that if the length of time exceeds one year, the permit or renewal shall expire after one year. The permit to operate or renewed permit to operate shall state (i) the estimated length of time that the device or devices will be operated at the site; (ii) the name of, or otherwise identify, the device or devices covered by the permit; and (iii) the date when the permit expires;
- 2. When a certificate of inspection is sought by the owner or operator, conducting an inspection to assure compliance with this chapter unless the owner or operator is providing an approved private inspector. If the owner or operator has given reasonable notice that a certificate of

inspection is sought and designated a specific day for the inspection, then the inspection shall be conducted on that day;

- 3. Accepting a written report of inspection from an approved private inspector;
- 4. When in receipt of a written report of inspection from an approved private inspector or after assuring compliance with this chapter through inspection, completing a certificate of inspection distributed by DHCD and causing the certificate to be posted or affixed on or in the vicinity of the device in a location visible to the public;
- 5. Accepting an existing certificate of inspection for a kiddie ride in which (i) the passenger height is limited to 54 inches or less; (ii) the capacity is 12 passengers or less; and (iii) the assembly time is two hours or less, provided the existing certificate of inspection for the ride was issued by a local building department in this Commonwealth less than one year prior to the date for which a certificate of inspection is sought, regardless of whether disassembly has occurred. Notwithstanding the above, if the kiddie ride is determined to be in violation of this chapter, the existing certificate of inspection shall not be valid; and
- 6. Issuing an order to cease operation upon discovery or notification that an accident involving the device has caused serious injury or death, except where the owner or operator has determined that the serious injury or death was not related to malfunction or improper operation of the device. Whether or not the order to cease operation has been issued, the official or representative shall conduct an inspection, or accept an inspection report from an approved private inspector, to assure the device complies with this chapter and is safe for operation.

I certify that this regulation is full, true, and correctly dated.	
	(Signature of Certifying Official)
	William C. Shelton, Director
	Department of Housing and Community Development
	Date: